Connecticut Real Estate License | How To Get It Fast & Properly

Getting Your Connecticut Real Estate License | Tier 1 Real Estate

Connecticut real estate license

A career as a real estate agent is very challenging, rewarding, and financially gratifying. In Connecticut, if you are interested in the fast-paced world of real estate, there are a number of steps you have to take to get your real estate license. In this article, Tier 1 Real Estate (Bristol CT Real Estate Brokerage), will be explaining exactly how to get your real estate license in Connecticut.

The Minimum Age Requirement For CT Real Estate License

To get your license, you have to be at least eighteen years old. You had to have completed high school and be fluent in English. The criteria and regulations to be an agent will vary among the provinces, so you need to check with your provincial board to get the specific requirements. You have to take and pass a real estate exam. In most provinces, it is the Provincial Board that is responsible for issuing the exam.

Meet the minimum requirements related to age and eligibility. One of the first things that always come up when learning how to get a building for sale license in Connecticut is what eligibility requirements you have.

You have to be in the United States legally (permanent resident or citizen of the county), and you have to be at least 18 years of age. On top of that, you also have to make sure that you have never been convicted of any felony. Connecticut (along with pretty much any other state out there) also requires that you have a broker from the state that is sponsoring the work that you are doing and that is overseeing what you do as well.

Completing A Licensing Course In Connecticut

Complete a licensing course that is approximately 75 hours in length. One of the most difficult things about licensing is sitting through this course; thankfully, there are online courses that can make it easier for you to keep up with your schedule and the career that you’re currently in.

75 hours of coursework has been put together to teach you about state laws, principles, ethics, and everything else that you would ever need to know in order to practice buildings for sale in a profitable, ethical manner that is going to be beneficial for everyone involved.

Take the exam and get your license taken care of. The exam is the hardest part. Remember all of the things that we talked about above when it comes to taking classes?

You’ve got to bring that information back to the front of your mind so you can pass the state exam. Once you’ve passed the exam, all you have to do is to apply for a salesperson license (which usually requires state fees – they’ll let you know that when you put together your application).

After that, you’re considered to be a building for sale broker, and you will be allowed to start selling homes and property. It’s a long process, but when you get to this point, you’ll realize how much worth it has. You can go ahead and find out more information about Connecticut’s state license exam here:

Connecticut State License Requirements

According to Connecticut real estate license requirements, you must be at least 18-years-old to apply for a real estate license. Although you may be a resident of the state, residency is not required and there is a process for non-residents to take the exam. If you are at least 18, then you need to complete three college-level courses pertaining to real estate, which are a minimum of 45 hours each. The coursework can be completed online or you can take classes in person. There are two required courses and one elective course. The required courses are:

Real Estate Principals.
Real Estate Practice.

You have several options for the elective course, including:

• Property Management.
• Real Estate Finance.
• Legal Aspects of Real Estate.
• Business Law.
• General Accounting.

There are several other elective classes from which to choose. As you complete each course, you will be given a final exam and then you will receive a Course Completion Certificate from the school where you took courses once you have passed all of the final exams.

Going Through The License Application Process

Once you have the certificate showing you completed the coursework, the next step in fulfilling the Connecticut real estate license requirements is to apply for a license. When you submit an application, you are actually applying to schedule a date, time and location in which to take the state license examination. There are two different tests to choose from:

• Salesperson Examination Application.
• Salesperson Examination/License Application

You need to submit a copy of your Course Completion Certificate with the application and a non-refundable fee of $150, which is payable to the Bureau of Real Estate. It has to be paid with either a check, money order or credit card as they do not accept cash payments.

You will be sent a notice about the date, time and location of the examination once your application has been processed. You have two years in which to take the licensing exam once your application has been filed with the BRE.

When you take the combination sales exam and license application, you will need to have your fingerprints scanned, which usually costs about $49 and the fee is $245 because it is also for your license and not just taking the salesperson exam. It is also very important that you are honest on your application because it may not be approved if you were ever convicted of a crime or for failure to disclose criminal activity.

In Conclusion 

No matter what your career goals are, knowing how to get a real estate license in Connecticut can be incredibly beneficial. There are a lot of buildings for sale markets out there, and you could end up establishing a great business because of how much is available throughout the state.

Learn more about how to get a real estate license in Connecticut today, and you may be opening doors that you didn’t even know existed in the real estate world. As you can see, getting started in real estate can be a bit expensive.

Depending on what you plan on selling, you can recover these costs fairly quickly as soon as your commissions start to come in. To be sure you get an exact cost total, check with your state licensing board for all of the costs that should be expected.

If you do manage to get your license, contact Tier 1 Real Estate today to apply to become an agent today.

Bristol: 985 Farmington Ave, Bristol, CT 06010
Avon: 412 West Avon Rd, Avon, CT 06001
(860) 578-2016 | [email protected]

Subscribe to New Listings

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, a real estate agent and client relationship. Tier 1 Real Estate is licensed & insured. Call (860) 578-2016. Email with any questions you may have regarding this website, or anything associated with it. @2019 All Rights Reserved. 
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram